Skip to content

Darrell Reid Undergoes Knee Surgery; May Miss Training Camp

February 15, 2010

Defensive End Darrell Reid may miss the Broncos entire training camp after having knee surgery in New York according to FOX31’s Josina Anderson.

“I had the surgery because I have a significant hole in the cartilage in my knee. The doctors aren’t exactly sure how this happened but they have a theory. Although there are signs of wear and tear, my injury looks like it is rigid; so they think my defect–they call it a defect–is most likely fresh,” said Reid of the surgery he underwent last week. He indicated that the injury was sustained in the second half of the Broncos/Steelers game last November.

“I’m the type that doesn’t really like the training room, so I really didn’t tell the trainers what was going on at first; but after the Colts game it got so sore that I knew I had to get on top of it. I had to tell the trainers. I told them after the Colts game because I knew that it wasn’t good,” Reid said.

He then told Anderson that not telling the training staff may have in fact worsened the injury. “Continuing to play on it may have effected me from a recovery time stand point, but it was important for me to be there for my teammates. Once the defect was there though it was there, because cartilage doesn’t grow back on it’s own; but obviously the smaller the injury area the quicker the recovery time will be.”

According to FOX31, at the end of the season he knew that he had to undergo surgery on his left knee. He opted for a cutting edge surgery which involves implanting a cartilage problem, even though the Broncos were not inclined towards the means of the surgery.

I’m upset that Reid didn’t immediately reveal his knee injury, because right now things would be a lot easier. That said, we wish him the best of luck and hope he is ready to go by training camp!

2 Comments
  1. February 16, 2010 8:08 AM

    This is 100% not good

    • February 16, 2010 2:40 PM

      We can only take comfort in the fact it wasn’t one of our more premiere pass rusher, and that he won’t risk missing the following season.

Comments are closed.

