Skip to content

Chiefs Beat Broncos, Crush Playoff Hopes.

January 3, 2010

I was wrong. The Broncos didn’t make the playoffs. I’ve never been more upset after a game. When you play a team like the Chiefs, and you have a legitimate shot at the playoffs, you win. You have to. There are no other choices. The score was 44-24

Congratulations McDaniels, you blew it just as big, if not bigger than Mike Shanahan did the previous year. Shanahan got fired for that. Someone needs to be held accountable for this pathetic of a collapse. We started 6-0 and are the first team to ever do so and miss the playoffs. Here are all the people laughing at us right now:

Jay Cutler

Brandon Marshall

Mike Shanahan

Tony Scheffler

Jamie Dukes

Bill Belichick

And every single Bronco from the Shanahan era, that Josh McDaniels cut.

On the bright side, spring training opens soon. Bronco Madness though will be here to cover the entire off-season if you dare pay attention.

5 Comments
  1. Nugs permalink
    January 3, 2010 4:06 PM

    I hope Pat Bowlen can do what McDaniels has proven he can’t do: recognize that a decision he made was the wrong one, acknowledge this, and move forward with a better plan.

    I held off on McDaniels hating for most of the season, giving him a chance to prove himself. What he has proven to me after a whole season at the helm is that he does not have the character needed to be a good head coach in the NFL. If the problem with McDaniels was only with the poor decisions he has made in coaching this team, I would say give him time to learn how to be more effective in his new position. But, how I see it, the problem with McDaniels goes beyond the bad decisions themselves; it is his stubbornness, naivety, and tactlessness in dealing with the players that has given me no faith in him as our coach.

    Giving him the job was a risk obviously with his age and lack of experience. Bowlen did a great job hiring Brian Xanders as GM, but seeing how McDaniels has performed at head coach it just didn’t turn out how he expected it to. I hope he gives the head coaching search another shot this offseason. I don’t see that happening with three years left on his contract, but I badly don’t want three more years of this guy bringing down the class and esteem of the Broncos organization. That would be much harder to recover from than where we are now.

    Whatever happens, go Broncos! Got an important task ahead of us next year in avenging home losses to all three division rivals this year. Whoever is wearing the Orange and Blue next season needs to make that happen one way or another.

    • January 3, 2010 5:59 PM

      Good points, all of them.

      BUT- I don’t think he brings down the class of the Broncos at all. He brings intensity, and a much more disciplined approach than most coaches. He doesn’t take any crap simply put. (I said earlier today on twitter his true calling is in the army.) A lot of organizations have coaches like that, and they don’t bring down the class at all. Jon Gruden was a lot like that. They won a Super Bowl and were considered a classy organization throughout those years. Still are.

      If we win next year, no ones going to care whether he drops the f-bomb on tv, or benches star players.

  2. kane permalink
    January 3, 2010 6:03 PM

    I used to appreciate your site and Bronco enthusiasm. Now you sound pretty much like my 4 year old baby boy when daddy won’t build him a house. I love it when a single fan screams for “accountibility.” Like you deserve the accountibility any more than Pat Bolan. “Ive got a website and I will lead the charge!!!” And, you know as well as I know that McDaniels isn’t going anywhere. This ones on the Defense and Orton. I guarentee Orton will not be back next season, it will be Brandstater.

    • January 3, 2010 6:13 PM

      Haha, did I ever say it’s McDaniels who is accountable?

      He isn’t. The team is, as a whole. What I hope is that McDaniels, who I do in fact hope stays because he has lots of potential, will look at the team, quit being stubborn and find some answers. Maybe it’s Orton. Maybe it’s the defense. I don’t know. At this point if I had to point fingers at one person or group of, it would be the O-Line.

      With the exception of Clady and Wiegmann, they can’t protect the QB, or get a push for the run. If your O-Line fails, the offense goes with it.

      I’m upset with McDaniels, but I don’t want him fired. I just want him to be a bit less stubborn. For instance: Moreno hasn’t converted on a 3rd and short situation in ages, but every single time we are running it with him on 3rd and short. I want to see less of that mentality from McD.

    • January 4, 2010 3:52 PM

      I don’t want Orton to be starter again, but I can almost guarentee that your guarentee is totally wrong.

Comments are closed.

