Skip to content

The Broncos Will Make The Playoffs.

December 21, 2009

All right people, I’ve calmed down… a bit. I’m still upset that we lost to the Raiders. I’m still mad that we weren’t able to hold on to the number 5 seed and I’m still furious that the Chargers have won the AFC West for their 4th year in a row. BUT-

I’m ready to make a bold prediction. This prediction is one that you can hold me accountable for. If I am wrong, feel free to make fun of me for the rest of the off-season and when I say trust me, you can say, “well I trusted you when you made that last bold prediction and you were wrong!” I don’t care what you say, because I truly think I am right. My prediction?

The Denver Broncos will earn a spot in the playoffs these next two weeks. I know we all feel depressed and void of any hope for the franchise right now, but it isn’t nearly as bad as it seems. Yes, losing to the Oakland Raiders is a horrible, horrible circumstance but we have to move on from it.

Let’s remember a couple of things:

If the season ended today, the Broncos would be the 6th seed in the playoffs. That means we are among the top 12 teams in the NFL. Media critics and fans are making it seem like we are one of the worst teams in the NFL right now, when in fact, according to our record we are among the best.

Second, this team has yet to be truly tested down the stretch. We have played 2 games in December. One was a loss and one was a win. For all we know, we just hit a bump in the road against the Raiders and this is an excellent December team. We have a new coach, a new Quarterback, a new defense and a new attitude. Let’s not automatically assume that because we were weak down the stretch under another regime, that the new one is too.

I know it’s hard to admit this, but we are in fact a pretty good team. Up until the final quarter against the Raiders, we were playing very tough football. We lost because we were simply outplayed at the end. Remember, a team no matter how much talent they possess, will always lose a game if they can not execute as well as the other.

The Broncos are a better team than the Raiders, they just didn’t execute.

So I’ve made my bold prediction. Let me give you my reasons for thinking this:

The Broncos play up against teams. It’s just a fact. Look at the four likely playoff teams we have played so far this season, the Patriots, the Cowboys, the Colts and the Bengals. Our record in those games has been 3-1. The only game we lost out of these four games was against the Colts who no one has defeated. And the Broncos, they almost won that game.

So, if we consider the Eagles better than us, who we play next week, chances are we are going to play up against them. We seem to always step it up a little bit against teams that analysts think are better than us. So don’t count us out just because they have earned a spot in the NFC playoffs.

In fact, that may be the biggest reason not to count us out. The Eagles have clinched, and while chances are they won’t rest their starters, something tells me that they won’t be giving their 100% effort, because they really have nothing to gain at this point. Unless you count an injury to Donovan McNabb or Desean Jackson something to gain.

We know that the Broncos will go into Philly and give it their best because we have our entire season riding on this one game. But will the Eagles do so? Are they really going to risk injury to their players by trying to beat us out of nothing but a want for pride? I know that if I was Andy Reid, I wouldn’t want them to.

Besides, Brian Dawkins the former Eagle is going to be going insane playing his old team. It’s going to be crazy watching him playing in Philadelphia, in another teams jersey. It will be tough to see the Broncos be more passionate than they will in this weeks game against the Eagles.

Now I’m not going to say that beating the Chiefs should be a breeze, I did that against the Raiders. We need to take this game just as seriously as we did the Eagles game. But, with that said, it will not be as challenging as the Eagles game. They aren’t as good of a team as the Eagles, and we’ve already crushed them once this season.

It shouldn’t be too hard to beat the Chiefs again. Believe it or not, it is in the favor of the Chiefs to lose. That way they might manage a higher draft pick in Aprils draft.

Can you believe it? We are playing two teams that both might have it in their favor to not play their best. This is as good a situation is you can get. (Okay, maybe playing the Chiefs twice in a row would be better, but you get the point.)

So have hope Broncos fans. The Broncos will make the playoffs. And if they do, you heard it here first.

Photo Credits: AP Photo/Andy Lyons
6 Comments
  1. Jon Krause permalink
    December 21, 2009 7:56 PM

    I think the KC game will be harder, but I’m not saying Philly will be easy …

    • December 21, 2009 8:18 PM

      why do you think that will be harder? (just curious)

      • December 22, 2009 3:59 PM

        Because it is a rival game, and KC knows us much better than Philly. And this week the Broncos know they will have to play great, and B-Dawk and the ‘D’ probably will. But we already killed KC so the team may think it will be easy again, and get beat 19-20 … I hate to use that as an example … Do you agree though?

        • December 22, 2009 5:04 PM

          Had it been a closer game last time against KC, I would. But since it’s at home, and we beat them that badly last time, I expect a win. Philly should be tougher, simply because they are a better team.

          • December 23, 2009 1:26 AM

            We’ll we will sure find out! =) GO BRONCOS!!!

  2. January 5, 2010 10:19 AM

    I think I was right?

Comments are closed.

