Skip to content

Scouting Report: Joe Haden

December 15, 2009

Joe Haden, CB, Florida

Strengths: Eliminates a Wide Receivers’ space quickly … Best tackler of any Cornerback in this draft … Very productive at collegiate level … Fluid hips … Jams Wide Receivers well … Pretty tough to go up against in a jump ball … Soft hands … Terrific in run support … Pursues ball-carrier with a strong closing burst … Intense, with lots of upside.

Weaknesses: Struggles when receivers make inside moves … Does not have the proper awareness or instincts to be dominant in the NFL … Needs to improve in zone coverage … Is known for letting up on good route runners … Doesn’t always break to the ball smoothly.

Overview: In my personal opinion, drafting Joe Haden is seriously risky business. Don’t get me wrong. His skill set is exactly what I love to see in a Cornerback. He can contribute to the run and ballhawk in the pass, but one look at his instincts and awareness and I think a lot of teams will be scared away. He just doesn’t have the instincts to go up against great route runners. If I had my choice between him and Ras-I Dowling, I would definitely take Dowling, but I’m sure one team will disagree.

1st rounder

Comments are closed.

