Skip to content

Davis, Sharpe Named HOF Finalists.

November 28, 2009

Today, on NFL Network the NFL announced the semifinalists for the NFL Hall of Fame consisting of 25 candidates, that will be narrowed down to 15 in January. The final 25 consisted of 2 Broncos including Tight End Shannon Sharpe who held the record for most receiving yards for a Tight End for nearly 10 years until he was unseated by Tony Gonzalez. 

The other Broncos candidate is Running Back Terrell Davis whose career ended quickly in 2000, but before that point won 2 Super Bowls, an NFL MVP and a Super Bowl MVP award. He also is one of only a few elite Running Backs in NFL history to run over 2,000 yards in just one season. There will be a documentary on NFL Network later today making a case for Davis to be inducted to the Hall of Fame comparing him to other running backs with short careers.

The other 23 candidates were: Emmitt Smith, Jerry Rice, Tim Brown, Andre Reed, Cris Carter, Cliff Branch, Ray Guy, Dermontti Dawson, Russ Grimm, Roger Craig, Richard Dent, Chris Doleman, Charles Haley, Cortez Kennedy, John Randle, Kevin Greene, Rickey Jackson, Lester Hayes, Aeneas Williams, Steve Tasker, Art Modell, Paul Tagliabue and Don Coryell.

My predictions for the final 15 are: Emmitt Smith, Jerry Rice, Andre Reed, Cris Carter, Ray Guy, Russ Grimm, Richard Dent, Charles Haley, Kevin Greene, Rickey Jackson, Aeneas Williams, Paul Tagliabue, Don Coryell, Shannon Sharpe and Terrell Davis. 

There will also be 2 other candidates chosen by the Seniors Committee which will be an addition to that list of 17. Floyd Little, a Running Back for the Denver Broncos was one of those two candidates. You can read more about his campaign here. The other candidate was Dick Lebeau a Cornerback for the Lions.

Final voting will be conducted at the Pro Football Hall of Fame Selection Committee’s annual meeting, which will be held on Saturday, Feb. 6, 2010 in South Florida the day before Super Bowl XLIV. Until then, you can expect to see a Bronco and maybe if we are lucky two in this years Hall of Fame class. 

Comments are closed.

%d bloggers like this: