Skip to content

Hypocrisy and Kyle Orton.

August 7, 2009

kyleortonhelmetlessIf you haven’t heard yet, and I am sure most of you have, Kyle Orton got booed by fans at yesterdays practice. After throwing two interceptions (both to Cornerback André Goodman) fans began to boo the new Quarterback. Now, I usually don’t take these things too seriously but this one is interesting because it is such a good display of the hypocrisy of football fans.

When Cutler was traded for Orton the automatic assumption is that Orton will fail. So therefore, Broncos fans almost wish he will fail. They refuse to be pleasantly surprised and that is why so many people have turned against him and McDaniels.

That means that they won’t even give him a fair shake. The second he plays poorly, he gets booed. I mean guys, it’s not even the pre-season yet. Give him a chance. Just because you didn’t like the trade, it doesn’t mean that we should label him a bust before he plays his first game as a Bronco. We all want the Broncos to succeed so let’s give Orton the chance to let us succeed.

The hypocrisy of this is that Broncos fans are booing him for throwing two interceptions, but had it been Cutler, it just would have been labeled and off-day and fans would have supported them. You can’t deny that. Here is Jay Cutlers’ game log via Yahoo! Sports:

Picture 6As you can see from above, Cutler had 4 games where he threw 2 or more Interceptions. Now think back to those and I want you to name me one game where he was booed. You can’t? That’s because he wasn’t! He played just as poorly as Orton did yesterday against Miami and New England but you didn’t boo Cutler! You booed Orton! It’s because Orton is not as beloved because Jay Cutler was a “pro bowler”.

That’s hypocrisy. 

Have some faith Broncos fans! There will be growing pains. You aren’t going to wake up one morning and Kyle Orton is going to be an All-Pro Quarterback. We had to wait 2 whole years before Cutler even got close to the level of an elite QB.

The glass is half full after all. While you may have booed because Orton threw two interceptions you really should have been cheering because André Goodman just had a defensive Touchdown and an Interception. That’s what the reaction should have been like but because it’s Orton and not Cutler, most Broncos fans will not think of this positively.

So have patience, be optimistic and whatever you do don’t be a hypocrite. Rally behind your team and even if we fail, we are heading the right direction. Trust me. 

Picture 1

10 Comments
  1. Jon Krause permalink
    August 7, 2009 8:35 AM

    “Jay Cutler was a “pro bowler”.” Dudes, just last season he went to the Pro Bowl that doesn’t mean Jay Cutler is a Pro Bowler QB. (It’s hard to type in words don’t get me wrong…) Don’t get me wrong I came to love Cutler (and still like him — don’t kill me!) but just like Orton got fans mad so did Jay. Thing is Orton really does like you say, needs a chance to play a real game, more like 16! Cutler’s first start vs. the Seahawks I was just like the Broncos fans last night, I was mad, wanted Plummer back (at least to finish off his season) and didn’t give Cutler a chance. So, it’s not just Orton, but you have a good point, give him, and McDaniels (tho it is so hard isn’t it) a chance, wait till the Broncos play a game – 16 games.

  2. August 7, 2009 8:45 AM

    There were a lot more cheers than boos, and the Goodman play got the whole stadium riled up with cheers, actually. But Orton stank yesterday, the fans wanted their first show of the 2009 season and he didn’t deliver. I wouldn’t have booed (it’s just a fricking practice) but I don’t blame them.

    You and I disagree in that I don’t think Kyle Orton is, or ever will be, an All-Pro.

    • August 7, 2009 8:55 AM

      Don’t worry lol I don’t think he will be All-Pro either. I do think there is something to be said though about how he hasn’t even played a game yet. We can’t say when Cutler throws 2 interceptions in a game it’s fine and when Orton throws 2 in a practice it’s inexcusable.

      • August 7, 2009 9:06 AM

        Haha – you said you “aren’t” going to wake up to an All-Pro, I misread it.

  3. Wes Choate permalink
    August 7, 2009 11:34 AM

    He has a decent chance at being an pro-bowl quarterback if the broncos can massage the relationships of his best weapons. Kyle Orton is good quarterback, i thought he was pretty damn good at Purdue. I believe, and I hope that a better system and better targets will help him reach new levels that none of think he can. GO ORTON!

    • August 7, 2009 11:38 AM

      You are right Wes. I mean Brian Greise was a pro bowl QB at one time too! I think Orton with a bit of help can definitely be a pro bowler.

  4. August 7, 2009 12:54 PM

    “As you can see from above, Cutler had 4 games where he threw 4 or more Interceptions. ” i dont see any

    • August 7, 2009 1:58 PM

      you’re right. I meant two lol.

  5. August 7, 2009 1:25 PM

    cutsler is corny guy. I gon curse hex he arm after what say about the denver. grandfather shoot pea at enemy kicker through straw and it work sometime. I gon katydid voodoo hex he arm guy. he gon be off throw all day for this. voo doo holmes. voo doo.

  6. mark in mi permalink
    August 7, 2009 7:13 PM

    Atleast there will be some good QBs coming out next year. if we would’ve kept our pick we probably could’ve ended up with bradford. I think out of all the things that anger me about this stupid situation is how we blew that draft pick. I mean, that’s going to end up being a top ten pick.

Comments are closed.

