Skip to content

Broncos Have No Interest In Vick

July 28, 2009

Yesterday, embattled running Quarterback Michael Vick was reinstated to the NFL by commissioner Roger Goodell. He is now allowed to join any NFL team that will agree to terms with him and he can participate in all team activities except games. He may return though to playing games by week 6 at the discretion of Commissioner Goodell. 

That of course sparked all sorts of talk to where he might go. Early favorites included the Redskins, 49ers, Raiders, Vikings and in some peoples opinion the Broncos. This as you might guess created a big divide between Broncos fans. Some love him. Some hate him. Some just don’t care.

But we can safely assume today that there is no chance that the jailbird (no pun intended) will be sporting a blue and orange uniform this season. 

Earlier today Broncos coach Josh McDaniels spoke to the Colorado Springs Gazette over whether or not the Broncos had any interest in the playmaking Quarterback. He expressed that he was not very interested and that “right now [they’re] very content with the situation [they] have,” at Quarterback.

That said he did leave a little wiggle room on the topic by saying that he “would look into any player that could help the team.” 

So for now we can pretty much be sure that Michael Vick will not be a Bronco. Though the last time I said a Quarterback with questionable character wouldn’t be wearing blue and orange in 2009 they ended up doing so. He went to the Bears.

14 Comments
  1. mr. me permalink
    July 28, 2009 3:52 PM

    i thought a jailbird was a person who broke out of jail? Vick was released after he served (more than deserved) time…

    and umm who can believe what Mhuh CD says anyway (hehe* huh sorta just kiding)

    • July 28, 2009 4:09 PM

      jailbird is a generic term for anyone who is incarcerated in jail.
      if you don’t believe me lol: http://www.merriam-webster.com/dictionary/jailbird
      i agree that he did serve his time in jail, i was just making a joke as to him being a falcon.

  2. July 29, 2009 9:14 AM

    Why it would help your qb situtation lol.

    • July 29, 2009 9:17 AM

      Are you kidding me? He isn’t a good Quarterback. Only one season in his career did he have a better passing rating than Kyle Orton did last season. He also has never thrown for as many yards as Orton at any time in his career.

      All he can do is run. That isn’t a Quarterback.

  3. July 29, 2009 1:52 PM

    The lol meant it was a sarcastic comment i made.

    • July 29, 2009 2:45 PM

      ahhh. sorry lol. (non sarcastic lol)

  4. Jon Krause permalink
    July 30, 2009 6:42 AM

    Hate to bash your post… but umm, this is not very accurate. Broncos aren’t right now pursuing Vick (at least nobody knows of it if they are) but they haven’t forbid thee idea… And PFT is retarded I know… but this post is not:

    http://profootballtalk.nbcsports.com/2009/07/29/is-there-a-flaw-in-the-anti-vick-list/

  5. mark in mi permalink
    August 1, 2009 7:58 PM

    seriously? taking shots a cutler? I don’t buy the questionable character crack you made. why was his character questionable? let’s see. I’d be pretty upset too if I busted my ass carrying a team with no defense or running game and the thanks I get is a nobody coach trying to move me for a one hit wonder. I’d also be upset if the year before that I had a serious medical condition that affected my play and caused me to drop 30 lbs and the team “doctors” weren’t intelligent enough to catch it. losing cutler set this team back at least 5 yrs. long after Mcdipshit gets fired (i give it a season and a half) intelligent bronco fans (that can remember the pre elway days) will be left watching the probowl qb we used to have win games and make this organization look foolish.

    • August 1, 2009 9:10 PM

      well, a lot of people do question his character. Brian Urlacher just went out and said that he was a pussy. It wasn’t as much a crack as it was a fact. He does have questionable character.
      That’s not to say he has bad character. There is a difference. You think what you just said, and Urlacher thinks what he thinks. It’s not so much bad, it’s just questionable. We aren’t sure. We are on the outside looking in.

  6. mark in mi permalink
    August 1, 2009 8:31 PM

    I have a dream. its a simple dream really. I’d like to see cutler, marshall and shanny all join forces in chicago so they can finish what they started. Mr. B needs to give marshall his wish and let him go be happy. B marsh deserves better than what’s instore the next 5 yrs or so. plus, from what I’m reading, he’s got a legitimate axe to grind with the teams “medical” staff. seriously, are the broncos cutting corners and hiring Docs with 3rd world degrees. it wouldn’t keep coming up if it wasn’t an issue. just sounds like a really unnecesary problem to have.

    • August 1, 2009 9:11 PM

      So you are saying you would rather have Shanny, Cutler, and Marshall as a Bear and cheer for them versus the Broncos. I’m a Broncos fan not a Shanny, Cutler, Marshall Trifecta fan.
      Trust me. Broncos fans shouldn’t want that.

  7. mark in mi permalink
    August 1, 2009 10:38 PM

    what I’m saying is, I’m curious to see what shanny woulda done with them, and I’d actually like to see it play out. it obviously isn’t going to happen where it should have happened. the broncos might as well move marshall because this won’t end well. marshall is the one with the “questionable” character and eventually he’s going to blow up. he doesn’t want to be here. As a bronco fan I want guys with talent but I also want them to want to be here. this mcdaniels experiment isn’t going to end well. I hope I’m wrong but I just don’t see it. I mean, afterall we’ve already traded a 1st rounder next yr for next to nothing. to make matters worse we gave up our natural pick and not the bears pick. the bears will be somewhere between 9-7 and 11-5 where as most think were looking at 5-11. but our pick is gone. I’m not gonna lie. I’m really interested in watching the bears now. since I live in mi. I’ll have plenty of chances to. I’ve been a bronco fan since 1979 ( 6 yrs old) I’ve suffered through a lot. super bowl humiliation after humiliation in the 80’s, but I’ve never been as down as I am now. we had the makings of something special. we were a good all defensive draft away from being a legit threat to the pats and steelers. now we are worse than our hated rivals…… the raiders. undead Al must be laughing his ass off right now.

    • August 2, 2009 7:45 AM

      mark i totally understand your concerns but have a bit more confidence in pat bowlen. he is one of the greatest sports owners in history and i think knew what he was doing when he hired josh mcdaniels.
      i say, we be optimistic and see that we still do have some decent players out there even without a franchise QB.

  8. mark in mi permalink
    August 1, 2009 11:16 PM

    I just came to an utterly horrible realization. For the first time in my 36 yrs the Detroit Lions have a better QB than the Broncos. And then I hear jay marrioti say that Jay Cutler’s bears jersey is the leagues #1 selling jersey this yr. So atleast McDaniels has his admirers, of course its Reebok (dont know who makes bears jerseys) and the citizens of chicago. I listen to WSCR AM 670(sportstalk) in chicago a lot cuz I’m a huge sox fan (and the signal carries across lake michigan) they love mcdaniels. he gave the bears what they’ve dreamed about since sid luckman.

Comments are closed.

