Skip to content

McDaniels Excited To Have Hillis

June 9, 2009

Picture 1There is no one doubting here that McDaniels knows Offensive talent when he sees it, after helping bring Tom Brady, Randy Moss, Wes Welker and others to the peak of his career in New England. So, The Denver Post was certainly on to something when they asked how he felt about Denvers’ Peyton Hills. 

Hillis today had played Fullback, Halfback and Receiver showing that he could do about anything on Offense as well as him having an impact on Special Teams too. He even thinks that he could be a reserve Linebacker in the mold of teammate Spencer Larsen. 

“He does a lot of things well. He can run the ball as a single back or he can catch the ball out of the backfield. He can block in two-back sets or he can split out wide. He’s got great hands and he’s a very tough runner to bring down when you give him the ball. So he’ll do a lot of different things for us.” McDaniels told The Post.

McDaniels told The Denver Post that his plan for the backfield includes Knowshon Moreno at Halfback and Peyton Hillis at Fullback. 

But if Josh McDaniels is excited, Peyton Hillis may be even more so:

“It was exciting,” Hillis said. “Last year proved that anything can happen in this league. I had a tough career in college. When I came to the NFL, I was just trying to make the team. If it never happens again, at least I proved that I can run with the best, that I can play ball. That’s what means the most to me.”

That said, he doesn’t expect playing Halfback even after lowering his weight to 245 pounds. 

“It’s all about how I can help the team,” he said. “I want people to see I can do a variety of roles, not just tailback.”

The Broncos last year seemed to be all about their passing game and that was exciting for us. This year, while their passing game might have its questions at Quarterback it seems content with its running game. I am excited to see what we can do with a young electrifying Running Back and a versatile Fullback as well as a stable of other Running Backs behind them. 

4 Comments
  1. Jon K. permalink
    June 9, 2009 11:33 AM

    Hillis is a BEAST! one of my fav players

    • June 10, 2009 5:16 PM

      Totally agree, he will be extremely valuable to this team in the future.

  2. June 10, 2009 9:48 AM

    Thanks for posting, I’ll definitely be subscribing to your blog.

  3. Michael Torres permalink
    June 10, 2009 5:17 PM

    I am so psyched to have Hillis contributing. I was worried when we brought in all these running backs and Spencer Larsen already in place that he would not be able to start. I am glad we don’t have to deal with that idea! I can’t wait to see him play.

Comments are closed.

