Skip to content

Bowlen Speaks Out.

May 23, 2009

Yesterday at ESPN Radio 1000, Pat Bowlent the current owner of the Denver Broncos went out and commented on Jay Cutler, and Kyle Orton. What did he say?

What are the Bears getting in Jay Cutler?

“They’re getting an extremely talented young quarterback.”

Any regrets about how the Cutler situation turned out?

“In my case, yeah. Jay and I got along. It just didn’t work out. However, I think he’s gone to a good place in Chicago. I think he’ll be a real asset to them and we’re moving on to a different direction.”

Could it have ended differently?

“You know, I don’t want to go down that road with Jay. I mean, Jay had his own agenda and you know I respect that. It just didn’t work out for him as for staying in Denver.”

Questioning Cutler’s tools?

“No, no, I think Jay was a very talented quarterback and he’s very early in his career and he has an opportunity to go on and be considered one of the better quarterbacks. So I don’t think there is any doubt in my mind that he has the physical and mental tools to do very well.”

What do you think about what you got in return in Kyle Orton?

“It’s a little early for me to start commenting on stuff like that, so we’ll see. We’re going through some OTAs and you know we’re watching guys throw footballs around. But, we’re a long way away-at least I’m a long way-from making any serious judgment calls on who is going to be good and who isn’t.”

I would say that what stands out here the most is the level of respect it seems that Pat Bowlen still holds for Jay Cutler and that he feels a little bit wishy washy on Kyle Orton. I think it is pretty obvious that he disagrees with what is going on right now and maybe even regrets hiring McDaniels…?

2 Comments
  1. john m. permalink
    May 23, 2009 8:47 AM

    I watched an interview a reporter had with Bill Parcels and they asked Bill about Jay Cutler shortly after Jay became a Denver Bronco and Bills opinion of Jay was that he wasn’t a winner in college and he wouldn’t be a winner in the NFL. People may disagree with that comment but Jay Cutler is 17 wins 20 losses as a starter and still hasn’t led his team to the playoffs. I agree with Bill Parcells thoughts and I’m glad Jay is gone. He can be Chicagos downfall Denver will become a power in a couple of years with Tom Brandster. Go Broncos!

    • May 23, 2009 6:00 PM

      That’s interesting, but I am hoping we see Kyle Orton turn into our star! lol

Comments are closed.

