Skip to content

Mile High Salute w/ Mike Koele: Tony Carter, Free Agent Cornerback

May 4, 2009

Tony Carter, Corner Back out of Florida State


This the undrafted free agent pickup that I am pretty excited about. I had the distinct pleasure of interviewing Tony for a site I help run and have kept in touch with him over the last couple of months. You can see his page here with the interview and some journal entries from him.

The fact that he is a pickup by the Denver Broncos is amazing. I don’t care how many good defensive backs we got in the draft, he is one of the best of them. 

I was pretty surprised actually that he was not drafted. This young man has speed, great ball instincts and return skills to top it all off. The only thing I can think of is his size being a reason (he is only 5’9″) but I can tell you from speaking to him directly that his character and drive are unmatched. I am going to be pulling for Tony big time in camp, we could use the help in the secondary anyhow.

5 Comments
  1. May 4, 2009 4:57 PM

    we got all the defence backs holmes. all of them.

    • May 4, 2009 4:59 PM

      haha almost… if it wasn’t for darcel mcbath i would be happy w/ them all.

  2. Michael Torres permalink
    May 4, 2009 6:24 PM

    I have liked him for some time, this is an amazing pick up and quite a steal since he wasn’t even drafted. He reminds me a lot of Josh Bell from last year.

  3. May 4, 2009 7:05 PM

    Hahahah @Horvil, too funny

    I agree Michael, I really think he flew under the radar and could be a contributor for us on day one. He is deceptively fast and can jump through the roof which makes up for his size.

    This is (I am biased since I talk to him) one of my favorite signings no doubt

Trackbacks

  1. Mile High Salute w/ Mike Koele: Tony Carter, Free Agent Cornerback Video

Comments are closed.

