Skip to content

Mile High Salute w/ Mike Koele: Mark Sanchez?

April 13, 2009

So the rumors run rampant leading up to the draft, I think we have all come to know and love that fact. One that I am really worried about personally is that the Broncos will draft a quarterback in the first round to replace Jay Cutler. Huh? Maybe I missed the boat, but didn’t we get a starter in return? Say what you want about Orton, but he has started and won NFL games.

Nobody available in the draft can say that and save me the Matt Ryan examples…that is not typical. As a matter of fact most first round quarterbacks are not even close to what they should be when they make it to the NFL. So you all might as well forget about starting in year 1.

I am happy about the trade and excited to see Simms and Orton compete for the starting job but seriously if Denver drafts a quarterback with their 1st or 2nd pick I will be pissed and a little confused. What does that say to Orton? I am praying it is a baseless rumor and they stick with the plan to build the defense up.

Let one of the guys on the team already battle for a spot and if you MUST get a quarterback for do it in a later round or wait until next year when the class is better. We don’t need a quarterback right now from the draft, we need a defense.

On another note, as some of you know I help run Tailgate365.com and last week we put out our first podcast. It is titled Tailgate Radio and is available on itunes and the Zune marketplace. Rate it, review it and give us your feedback. You can also email questions into podcast@tailgate365.com. We actually just published podcast #2 yesterday as well.

 

5 Comments
  1. Mr. Me permalink
    April 14, 2009 2:24 PM

    yo wheres the scheduel?
    i wanna see what ya’ll have to say about Cutlers’ Bears get’n the eaiest (paper) season schedule

  2. Wes permalink
    April 14, 2009 5:27 PM

    Mike, i couldn’t agree with you more. Lets all hope and pray we land defense with both. use both first round picks next year and get bradford, or use are third round pick and pick up the kid from ball st or Chase Daniels

  3. April 16, 2009 4:52 PM

    I agree Mike. But I think a player like Stephen McGee might be a great middle round prospect.

    • April 16, 2009 5:30 PM

      Middle round (past the 3rd at least) I am ok with a QB, but not the first round. I just think we need immediate first round talent on defense, not a QB or we will be in the same boat as last year with a great offense and nothing on the other side.

  4. Broncos34234 permalink
    April 22, 2009 11:35 PM

    hmm… I like Sanchez but I question whether he is really what we need on this team. Defense first baby!

Comments are closed.

