Skip to content

Mile High Salute w/ Mike Koele: Give the guy a chance

March 24, 2009
Josh McDaniels

Josh McDaniels

Garrett here. Apologies that this is a day late. There were a various number of reasons on mine and Mikes part but I still hope you enjoy it! Like many of you, I watched the NFL Network’s interview with Denver Bronco coach Josh McDaniels tonight.  I have read countless things about the coach since he was hired on both sides of the fence and to be honest I never really made up my mind.

How on earth can we tell how good or bad of a coach he will be?  Granted, some things have left me scratching my head a little like messing with the side of the ball that was NOT the issue. One thing I can say after watching him speak tonight is, he is learning and getting better.  Not just with the talking but with his command and confidence that this is HIS team.  That is what we need Denver fans, make no mistake about it. 

One of my favorite things I have read so far is that some fans are going to dump their season tickets because of McDaniels.  Please, by all means do it.  Not only will I get to that seat quicker (I was 6,515 on the list last week..w00t!) but I would rather not have you as a fellow fan.  I am not fooling myself into thinking that this off season has been a bowl of cherries but seriously, what sort of fan bails during a tough time?

During the interview, the coach was clearly being baited into more hype.  I think he may have been a little nervous but you have to hand it to him, he stuck to his guns and in my mind told Jay that the ball is in his court.  I would bet that the locker room likes the new coach, although that is clearly a guess as I would not know that for sure. 

In the end, we have a new coach who is young and will probably make more questionable decisions during his tenure as a Denver Bronco but remember this Bronco Nation…he is a Denver Bronco and that won’t change barring something catastrophic.  Support your team, your players and your new coach and simply give the guy a chance to actually succeed or fail when it matters during the season before passing judgement.

Mike is a member of the Bronco Madness staff, you can find his own blog at Broncos 365 and Tailgate 365.

6 Comments
  1. Dennis permalink
    March 24, 2009 5:20 PM

    Excellent commentary again Mike.

  2. March 24, 2009 5:50 PM

    I have to keep coming back to this one statement Mike, which I have used in at least three articles, and comments. If you leave the Broncos if Cutler leaves, you are not, you will never be, and you never were a TRUE Denver Broncos fan.

  3. March 25, 2009 5:51 AM

    Thanks Dennis!

    Garrett I could not agree more, it almost makes me sick when I hear and read that people say it.

    0-16 or 16-0 I am a Broncos fan for life

    • March 25, 2009 6:23 PM

      Really, think of the die-hard Detroit Lions fans… Let’s hope we never have to deal with that though lol.

  4. March 26, 2009 8:38 AM

    You know what is funny, I grew up rooting for the Lions before we moved to Colorado…so I kinda’ know that pain also.

    Secretly I pull for them although Denver is the #1 team for me forever.

  5. Fingers permalink
    March 27, 2009 5:01 AM

    It’s not that Jay Cutler doesn’t have talent.. The question is.. Is he a headcase and is he a leader, do his teamates like him?.. Everybody always likes to say Footballs a business like anyother entertainment so did Cutler over react.. If Cutler stays, and he should , he needs to put his energy into winning games stop the crybaby act, no more comparing himself to anybody, Elway! And don’t forget the afc west was a lot better when Elway played than the afc west teams Cutlers facing so his yards passing aren’t that big a deal..play ball and shut up….

Comments are closed.

