Skip to content

Combine Starts Tomorrow, Coverage Saturday

February 18, 2009
Gaines Adams

Gaines Adams

Just a quick reminder for all you draft niks: The Combine will begin tomorrow at noon in Indy. Bronco Madness won’t have coverage of it until Saturday though where we will have a couple of live blogs. But first here is a few of my thoughts on what might happen:

PLAYERS TO WATCH:

Player, Position, School, Drill To Watch:

Donald Brown, RB, UCONN, 40 Yard Dash: I am sensing him to be a little bit Chris Johnson-esque. Expect him to have a very strong 40 time. 

Michael Oher, OT, Ole Miss, Bench Press: This could be a bench press to remember. I think we could see a very strong press by him.

Aaron Curry, OLB, Wake Forrest, Broad Jump: I love the broad jump and it to me is one of the most exciting events of the combine. I think that we could see Curry have a pretty good Broad Jump and give it some attention.

DRILLS TO WATCH:

40 Yard Dash-It paints the most accurate picture of NFL Success.

QB Arm Strength Drills-This is where Joe Flacco got a lot of attention last year and I could see another player breaking out this year too.

The Gauntlet-It is just a fun drill to watch and can really show off a Wide Receivers hands.

DRILLS TO NOT TRUST:

Bench Press-It is simply an unreliable drill. It can raise a prospects stock very high and it has resulted in a lot of busts.

Vertical Jump-I have some friends who really love this drill. I find it boring and that it shows nearly nothing that we could ever find useful to the players.

WONDERLIC TEST:

I believe that in the next two days Wonderlic Tests will be taken. I could be wrong. Either way, Mile High Report has a great article on it right now where you can take the test for yourself. So will there be any geniuses in this class? Will we find out that one is mentally retarded? (No that is not a joke, there have been some tests where we have found out a player is mentally retarded.)

One Comment
  1. Josh Vitale permalink
    February 20, 2009 3:20 PM

    I love Donald Brown. I’m from CT, and the man gets no national respect, even though he lead the nation in rushing yards. Nothing would make me happier than to see him fall to Denver in the third round. Maybe it’s a streatch that he falls that far, but still.

Comments are closed.

