Skip to content

Six More Go. Bigger Names.

February 16, 2009
Dewayne Robertson

Dewayne Robertson

The Denver Broncos today have happened to cut six more players off of our roster. This time there are a lot bigger names too than our last cuts. Josh McDaniels might get some heat for some of these cuts. I like them in general but I will explain why and also why this will help the salary cap.

The cuts include defensive end John Engelberger, tight end Nate Jackson, linebacker Niko Koutouvides, safety Marquand Manuel, defensive tackle Dewayne Robertson and linebacker Jamie Winborn. Now why will he get some heat for some of these very sensible cuts?

It depends. For some of then like Niko Koutouvides, Marquand Manuel and Dewayne Robertson they wont mind. Actually for cutting Robertson Josh McDaniels might get lots and lots of support.

But Jamie Winborn while I am not too crazy about, has the support of a lot of players. This comes with the fact that he led the team in tackles. Also Nate Jackson he might get some heat for because he had a lot of good plays last year and has been a Bronco for a long time. 

As for the salary cap, here is how badly it will help us. Robertson alone was scheduled to count $16-million against the salary cap, Koutouvides ($3.062 million), Engelberger ($2.185 million), Manuel ($1.333 million) and Winborn ($2.25 million). Overall the Broncos saved nearly $25 million dollars with the cuts, coupled with the cuts from earlier last week, they have freed close to $30 million according to Bronco Talk

We have saved, get this, $30 million dollars. That will be very nice for free agency and I think we are going to be high spenders. So that’s about it. We are expecting a lot more news to show up these next few days so keep it here at Bronco Madness for the latest beat. 

10 Comments
  1. Josh Vitale permalink
    February 16, 2009 5:18 PM

    Garrett, I just have to tell you that I was halfway done writing this post when I went on to check if you had done it already, and there it was. I definitely agree with all these cuts, as the broncos clearly need to clear up some cap space. I just hope Bly and Mcree are the next to go.

  2. February 16, 2009 5:23 PM

    haha. i was worried that might happen… I don’t feel the same about Bly but that he needs a demotion. McCree I agree about though.

  3. Mark in MI permalink
    February 16, 2009 5:26 PM

    Um, I’m not sure about your salary cap math. According to profootballtalk.com these cuts will only save the broncos between 6 and 7 million off the cap in 2009. I don’t honestly know who’s correct but I’d like to.

    • February 16, 2009 5:43 PM

      I got mine via broncotalk.net. I am gunna look it up on my own.

  4. Mark in MI permalink
    February 16, 2009 5:34 PM

    is anybody else confused these cap figures? according to the AP Robertson is counting for 16 million whereas the broncos list him at $900,000 for 09.

  5. Josh Vitale permalink
    February 16, 2009 5:35 PM

    Well, I just don’t feel like Bly should be a starter anymore, and If the Broncos are going to demote him, they shouldn’t be paying him starters money to do it. I say he stays on with a pay sut, or he goes. I’d like to see a youth movement under Champ at corner, with maybe a guy like Dunta Robinson or Bryant McFadden coming in.

  6. February 16, 2009 5:46 PM

    Okay, I just figured it out. That 30 mil is including our cuts from the last 5. and the 6 mil from pft are for 2009 commitments.

  7. mark in MI permalink
    February 16, 2009 6:00 PM

    I’m still confused….. They’re saying that the first 5 cut saved 24 million in 09 cap space? that can’t be right. pope and alridge were on undrafted rookie deals if not more of them. somewhere somebody must have the math wrong.

    • February 16, 2009 6:02 PM

      I know, this makes no sense. I have e-mailed a couple of guys at various sites and am skimming cap pages. I will have an article on this later…

  8. mark in MI permalink
    February 17, 2009 3:47 AM

    PFT just put up an article clarifying the broncos cap moves. if I understand it correctly robertson was going to count 16 mil against the 09 cap because of bonuses. between those bonuses and the salaries of the other 5 the broncos saved roughly 20 mil in 09.

Comments are closed.

