Skip to content

I Was Wrong…

February 13, 2009

Derrick Ward - Giants Football Blog

Do not expect me to ever admit this again. If any of you have read my blog often this is probably a first. I had read a lot of comments and e-mails to us about how we are wrong about Darren Sproles. I have been told that there is no way he could start. Well, they were wrong. I think he could start. Sorry. I am sure that he could start even with his size.

But what I am wrong about is Derrick Ward. I have said there is no way he could ever be a starting Running Back. So I went out and watched some film of him, read his stats and did everything I could to find out about him. He is amazing. I now want Ward.

Derrick Ward is the perfect balance of power and speed. He has a great burst to the hole, he can run over defenders and has a big stiff arm. But he is also insanely fast. He is not Darren Sproles, or MJD fast but he is fast. When watching him he can run so fast on the open field it is amazing.

I think that he may be the best running back in all of free agency. And he would fit perfectly in the Broncos running game! He had averaged 5.6 yards a carry as the number 2 back and still managed to have 1,000 yards rushing. Imagine him and Hillis in the backfield!

The best part is that we wouldn’t need Derrick Ward at an extremely high price! We already know that he can manage 1,000 yards as the backup so as the feature back, we might be able to make him a 1,500 yard threat. He could be our best back since Portis and Davis and with McDaniels last a long time. 

So yes, I was wrong. And yes, I want Derrick Ward as our next starting Running Back. So get on it Denver!

11 Comments
  1. Jon Krause permalink
    February 13, 2009 8:09 AM

    Peyton Hillis baby!!

    Hey he’s even got the Mile High salute! It’s a sign.

    #22 All the Way!

    • February 13, 2009 9:10 AM

      I dunno, a one two punch with him and ward might be something special…

  2. February 13, 2009 10:23 AM

    Hahahahaha nobody wants to play for the donekys.

  3. February 13, 2009 10:24 AM

    Donkeys suck just remember 52 to 21 donkey fans.

  4. Jon Krause permalink
    February 13, 2009 10:34 AM

    Yo dude if you were a real chargers fan what are you doing reading all this news on a Broncos fan site!!??

    Oh maybe your not, for a sec there I had forgotten the chargers don’t have any real fans!

  5. February 13, 2009 7:25 PM

    I been a chargers fan all my life buddy i have season tickets. Don’t be hating because the chargers are better then the donkeys. Remember that look on jay cutler face during the game in san diego that was priceless u can expect more of that in 09.

    • February 13, 2009 8:54 PM

      I think Jon was just stating the facts. the chargers are ranked as the 4th least liked team in the nfl or 28th most liked while the broncos are ranked as the 8th most liked team. besides the broncos are going to the playoffs next year as cutler is a better qb, we have better wr, lt is almost at the shaun alexander stage in his career, which means that we will have the better run game, your defense is a one man wrecking crew with merriman, when we are set to build a good defense with one of the best defensive coordinators in the game. broncos are simply the better team and it is lucky that the chargers hit their stride at the right time and the broncos at the wrong time so that you could make the playoffs just because you beat the worse division teams vs us who actually beat solid teams.

  6. February 14, 2009 8:15 AM

    Lt is still better then any of the rbs the broncos have. U mave have the ebtter wrs but the chargers have the better qb better ceondary better tight end bettter pass rush.

    • February 14, 2009 8:24 AM

      we have two tight ends who combined are better than a weaker antonio gates. jay cutler is clearly the better qb but we will never agree on that so there is no point on arguing that. we have the better secondary. we have champ bailey who is the best cornerback since deion sanders and dre’ bly. i think antonio cromartie showed us what he was made of… you do have the better pass rush though. simply the broncos are better.

  7. mark in MI permalink
    February 14, 2009 12:09 PM

    Wecome to the correct side of the argument Mr. Barnes. If we land Ward are running back problems are solved for 3 yrs. he’s older but he doesn’t have many carries on his career. Run, catch, block….. Ward can do it all. I’ve gotta admit, I’ve never heard somebody say that they were wrong on a blog before. I give you credit for actually going back and scouting ward when you weren’t overly familiar with him. now I can’t wait till we disagree on something again, I’m batting 1.000!!! oh and as for the charger rukes guy, my plan is to ignore him and not play his game.

  8. Jon Krause permalink
    February 17, 2009 4:07 PM

    Garrett, you said nearly exactly what I was gonna say…

Comments are closed.

