Skip to content

Shannon Sharpe Denied by Hall of Fame

January 31, 2009
Shannon Sharpe

Shannon Sharpe

Today in Tampa Bay, the 2009 NFL Hall of Fame class was announced. Out of 17 players, the HOF Committee decided to enshrine wide receiver Bob Hayes, guard Randall McDaniel, defensive end Bruce Smith, linebacker Derrick Thomas, owner Ralph Wilson, and defensive back Rod Woodson.

Missing from this group, however, is long-time Denver Broncos tight end Shannon Sharpe, who failed to net enough votes to be inducted. This was the first year Sharpe was eligible to enter the Hall of Fame, but he fell short of making it.

Even though it was his first shot at the Hall, this outcome shocks me a little bit. Up until Tony Gonzalez broke Sharpe’s records this season, Sharpe held the all-time NFL records for catches, yards, and touchdowns by a tight end.

Shannon Sharpe deserves to be in the Hall of Fame. Hopefully he can make it as a second ballot Hall of Famer next year.

  1. February 2, 2009 9:36 AM

    Hahahahaha broncos suck.

  2. February 2, 2009 2:25 PM

    Hahahahahahahahahahahahahahaha Raiders went 5-11.

Comments are closed.

%d bloggers like this: