Skip to content

Josh McDaniels Hired As New Head Coach

January 11, 2009

McDaniels Broncos New Head Coach

Chris Mortensen of ESPN has just announced that the Broncos have hired Patriots Offensive Coordinator Josh McDaniels as the Broncos new head coach!

He will fill the shoes of Mike Shanahan who was recently fired by Pat Bowlen. McDaniels has been speculated as the favorite to win the position for a couple of days and this seems finalized. 

This is hot off the presses and we will have more updates following. Josh McDaniels is only 32 and will be our youngest Broncos head coach ever. Check back for updates.

UPDATE: This isn’t exactly an update, it is more just more information and my opinions on this because I posted it quickly to beat NFL to the punch on the news. It worked. Now I will go in a bit more detail. This disproves my previous prediction that we would wait and show more interest in Steve Spagnuolo before we hired our Head Coach.

McDaniels is an exciting pick and is definitely the best coach that we considered but is not defensively minded which is my only hesitation on him. He is an exciting pick and could help turn Jay Cutler into a Hall of Fame caliber QB. He reminds me of a young Shanahan and I am glad that we chose someone this quickly. 

So here is the poll, do you like the choice of Josh McDaniels. Vote here or down on the sidebar:

11 Comments
  1. tony g permalink
    January 11, 2009 6:21 PM

    Josh McDaniels is an interesting prospect and I think is going to be a great coach for the Broncos.

  2. January 11, 2009 6:22 PM

    I agree. He is sort of like a young Shanahan and is really going to be an exciting coach.

  3. January 12, 2009 10:08 AM

    That shot of Josh he looks like a 4th string walk on wide receiver at some NCAA school. young dude.

    • January 12, 2009 2:49 PM

      That is exactly what I was thinking…

  4. January 12, 2009 4:33 PM

    I think one of (if not the best) part of get’n him is if we got Mike Nolan
    I think his stint as our Head Coach may be short. I don’t think that should happen, and I don’t want it to, but I have a bad gut kind of feeling.

  5. January 12, 2009 5:17 PM

    I think that this could be a long lasting relationship in my opinion. He is a good coach, and I think will bode well with Jay Cutler and friends. If we got Mike Nolan that would be great, later I will actually have a post on that subject.

  6. January 12, 2009 5:26 PM

    I hope he’s a long term dude, has Nolan not been confirmed yet? I already said he was our D-cordinator on BZ :[ opps

  7. January 12, 2009 5:31 PM

    not officially. i can about guarantee that he will be but the broncos have yet to officially announce it and there are a lot of sources that are saying other people will be the new d coordinator though.

Trackbacks

  1. Josh McDaniels Hired As New Head Coach
  2. C.R.E.A.M. « PR Campaigns - The blog
  3. Mile High Pity » C.R.E.A.M.

Comments are closed.

