Skip to content

Shanahan Is Gone, What Now?

December 30, 2008

I could not be more disappointed than I am now. Mike Shanahan has left the Denver Broncos and I can not believe that this has finally happened. I knew eventually he would have to go but this just seems so soon…

But we will have to get over it and accept that now we need to find a new head coach. So the question now is who should fill his vacancy. I have a couple of ideas on who should be his replacement for next year for both coach and V.P of Football Operations.

First, I think that for Head Coach we have two major prospects. My first would be the idea of Eric Mangini coming as our Head Coach. Mangini not only has a defensive mind but he does good job with QB’s. Honestly I do not think this would be a great replacement but it is definitely an option when we are looking for a new coach.

Second, I could see us promoting Jeremy Bates. Bates our current QB Coach has gotten rave reviews from the entire team. He already calls offensive plays and has done a great job with Jay Cutler. Having him as a head coach would sure be an interesting idea on what we might want to do with the team.

Steve Spanuolo Calling The Plays

Steve Spanuolo Calling The Plays

Third and my final idea for coach is Steve Spagnuolo who is the defensive coordinator of the NY Giants. He has helped turn the Giants into one of the best defensive teams in the NFL and could fix our Defensive Problems. I would be a bit worried about if he could work with Cutler but he still seems capable of the job.

Like many of us it is hard for me to imagine a team without Mike Shanahan but I would still be happy if we could get Spagnuolo on our team. He seems like the most fit man for the job and would be the perfect Head Coach for the Broncos. Right now though, one my biggest fears is how our draft will go without Mike Shanahan who has been one of the best drafters in ages.

When more rumors emerge on who the Broncos will start talking to we will be here to announce them. Until then I am going to cry. Later we will have a few more prospects on who the Broncos could look at.

3 Comments
  1. December 30, 2008 3:07 PM

    Wow. I can’t stand the guy, but that’s only because I respect the heck out of him as a coach and I hated having to see the Bolts play his team twice a year.

    Sir Bolt
    http://www.boltitis.com

  2. RSH permalink
    January 3, 2009 8:04 AM

    Mike Shanahan is a great coach, but calling him one of the best drafters is ridiculous. Shanahan has had two good drafts, 2006 and 2008. 2007’s draft is shaping up as a bust and many of his drafts have cost the Broncos dearly throughout the years and that is evident now by what is left from the 2001-2005 choices Shanahan made.

  3. Timbo permalink
    January 8, 2009 7:33 PM

    I agree with RSH. I loved Shanny as much as any other Broncos fan, but he is kind of the opposite of being a good drafter. I mean, he did extremely well in picking Cutler, Scheffler, Royal and a few others, but you seem to forget the many, many sucktastic players he has picked.

Comments are closed.

