Skip to content

BM Exclusive Profile: Michael Crabtree

September 29, 2008

I have pegged Michael Crabtree as the early first overall pick of the NFL Draft. Now I am going to break down his skills, weaknesses, and all of the other things I add to these draft profiles. I hope you enjoy as a break down this star of the future player in his profile.

Crabtree Jumps Over a Defender

Crabtree Jumps Over a Defender

 

Name: Michael Crabtree

Position: Wide Receiver

School: Texas Tech

Height & Weight: 6-3 / 214

Class: Sophomore RS

What I Think: I love Crabtree. If I didn’t he would not be my pick to be the first overall pick in the 2009 draft. He is just amazing. His freshman, yes I said freshman season was one of the greatest receiving years of any player to ever play college football. He had over 1900 yards and if that does not open up a scouts eyes there is nothing that can. People recognized it too. He was the Biletnikoff Award winner, a unanimous consensus All-America first team selection, the Big 12 Conference Offensive Player of the Year and had several National Freshman of the Year honors. He can apply for the draft despite him being a Sophomore because he was red-shirted in his first year. He would be a fool if he didn’t enter the draft as he is poised for another big season. He is on the track for 1371 yards and a bunch of Touchdowns. The interesting part is that since he has had a substantial decrease in yards, because you can just not repeat those kinds of season if he had any less after another year it would hurt his draft stock intensely. There is controversy over him though. Not only does Crabtree play in an offense that is known for putting up those big numbers but he is totally inexperienced and does not have great timed speed. The reason that I do not look at most of this except the big numbers is that he has the most soft hands which are just amazing. I have never seen Crabtree drop a good pass. While he will always be controversial for a boat load of reasons I see him as the best offensive player in this draft.

Draft Grade: A

4 Comments
  1. September 30, 2008 3:31 PM

    great news Garrett, (for you anyway) the Broncos signed Glenn-Mar!!

  2. September 30, 2008 5:08 PM

    I know!!!!! An article on it will be up in just a sec. Whoooo!

  3. Grayson Burdon permalink
    October 2, 2008 6:53 PM

    Micheal Crabtree will not go first, although moreno wont either. Chris wells will go to the Bills for sure even with lynch. think of that one, two punch.

  4. October 2, 2008 6:59 PM

    While Crabtree may not go first I do not see Wells going to the Bills. They are doing so well he will not drop that low. They would be quite a one, two punch though.

Comments are closed.

