Skip to content

Power Rankings – The Vince Young Situation

September 11, 2008

Hey guys! I thought that I might share some power rankings for the NFL that will be updated every week. When I was talking about this with the staff they also pointed out we could attach an article to it that has to do with the NFL in general. So here it is, my first Power Ranking. Wish me luck!

1. New York Giants: Still the best baby…

2. Dallas Cowboys: Keep Romo healthy and your in the Playoffs.

3. Green Bay Packers: The NFC continues to dominate…

4. Jacksonville Jaguars: But not for long.

5. New Orleans Saints: Now wait… Is Reggie Bush a bust?

6. Indianapolis Colts: They lost but are still my Super Bowl pick…

7. Pittsburgh Steelers: The Colts have some serious competition for it…

8. Denver Broncos: And the Broncos would be part of that competition.

9. San Diego Chargers: Mourning Shawne Merriman….

10. New England Patriots: Guess who’s mourning more than the Bolts?

11. Minnesota Vikings: So what happened to them?

12. Tennessee Titans: Just read the article.

13. Carolina Panthers: So these guys really aren’t all that bad. Surprising.

14. Philadelphia Eagles: 14 now. Top 10 next week. Love ’em.

15. Buffalo Bills: Go special teams!!!!!!!!

16. Cleveland Browns: Brady Quinn! Brady Quinn! Brady Quinn! 

17. Arizona Cardinals: I don’t care how good they look on paper. They only beat the 49ers!

18. Tampa Bay Buccaneers: If the defense looked bad this early…

19. New York Jets: They still won’t be as underachieving as the Jets D.

20. Washington Redskins: The offense is young. Give them time.

21. Houston Texans: A comeback will be arising. Do not worry Texas.

22. Atlanta Falcons: Top 10 next year. Michael Turner is beast and the next great RB.

23. Seattle Seahawks: It’s raining in Seattle for a reason.

24. Kansas City Chiefs: 5 tries to win on the 5 yard line. 5 total failures.

25. Baltimore Ravens: Joe Flacco or Matt Ryan? Matt Ryan.

26. Chicago Bears: Wait does this say they won?!

27. Detroit Lions: Tatum Bell while stealing bags must have taken some talent away too.

28. Cincinnati Bengals: Carson Palmer wishes he was Tom Brady right now.

29. San Francisco 49ers: This team looks good. Oh wait. There is no QB.

30. Miami Dolphins: I guess they looked a bit better than last year.

31. Oakland Raiders: I want to rank them lower.

32. St. Louis Rams. It’s going to be a long season for St. Louis.

My article this week is about the ongoing Vince Young soap opera which as a psychiatrist and mental health advocate has left me heartbroken.

You see while sad what Vince Young is going through, some of it is normal for a young Pro QB. It has happened to Joey Harrington among others. Think of it as if you are a young hotshot out of college who is now the CEO of I don’t know… IBM. Now imagine yourself on stage in front of millions of Americans, “IBM” fans, and critics of all kinds. That is the stress that Young is going through right now.

Suicide. A bit of an overreaction. “I’m fine. I’m good,’’ Young said this afternoon, per the Tennessean. “I just needed a day-and-a half to get through some things and how to handle things, but now I am OK. I was never depressed, I just hurt a little bit. … When it happens again I’ll know how to handle it. I just want everyone in the world to know I am fine.’’

Now add an injury to the equation. It is crazy what he is having to go through. I can only imagine how the relationship between him and Jeff Fisher has soured after this whole “suicide” extravaganza. It is just madness how he would think that he would do that. It would be quite a rarity. Family problems though have also taken their tole on him with an incarcerated father who now that Young is now a pro football player wants to get back into his life. 

I do not know much about it but if I were to take a guess I would have to say that this man does not really love Vince and just wants money. But what do I know? I think that Young will stay as the starter even after he gets back from his time on the IR. He does not seem to be a cancer in the locker room. Just a young man with personal problems being played in front of the entire nation. 

If Vince is able to make a comeback which I believe he is perfectly capable of doing, he could be an all time great. But I still think that he needs to work on this. Word is he has hired a psychiatrist which I think is the best thing he could do at this point. I hope that he can fully recover and play again. I do not think that this will hurt the team too bad for now. Also I guarantee you that he will not and I mean not retire.

5 Comments
  1. September 11, 2008 5:46 PM

    G, three things I don’t agree with:
    *Giants-Still the best baby…* No, no, no
    *Colts-They lost but are still my Super Bowl pick…* Cotls super bowl! what!?
    *Packers-The NFC continues to dominate…* yes the ncf is good, but the Pakcers no way

  2. September 11, 2008 5:50 PM

    I love Vince, he’s got a lot of talent. If always has tons of picks…but he always seems to get his team out with a win. And that’s the biggest +

  3. Shawn Esmaili permalink
    September 11, 2008 7:14 PM

    Hi Garrett,

    Ya know, niners had so many bad years, that i think they’ll finally have a good year this year. I hope. And the Broncos too, although their season wasn’t as bad as the niners.

  4. September 12, 2008 2:02 PM

    Jon,

    The G-Men won the Super Bowl last year, until they lose a game they will stay up there.

    Colts- Peyton Manning is as always amazing. Joseph Addai matured and one of the best RBs in the league. A 3 WR punch with Harrison, Wayne, and Gonzalez. The O-Line beefed up in the draft even when it was already great. The defense healthy again with some more depth. Sounds like a Super Bowl to me but to each is his own.

    The Packers played well with Aaron Rodgers and won either way. Good team overall but I could agree the ranking may have been a bit high.

  5. September 12, 2008 3:33 PM

    I sorry G, but Marv (Harrison) is like 36, and Jospeh just has great blocking and he always faces a ‘D’ that is so scared about Peyton of course he’ll be able to do some stuff. And yeah I guess NY can be #1, but ONLY on paper. 🙂 And as soon as the loose BOME! They gone-out of here!

    We all get our own opinion, right?

Comments are closed.

