Skip to content

Cecil Sapp Released

September 4, 2008

Well, I thought that this might be coming in the back of my mind but now that it is here it still comes as a surprise. Cecil Sapp today was released by the Denver Broncos.

Sapp was initially placed on Injured Reserve to start the season, and has been working with the Broncos to reach an injury settlement and play elsewhere.

“I’ve got about three teams interested but I have to get healthy first,” Sapp told the Denver Post today who originally reported the news.

Sapp suffered a strained hip flexor in the Broncos’ final preseason game in Arizona. The Colorado State Running Back was originally signed by the Broncos as an undrafted free agent in 2003. He became the starting fullback for the Broncos in 2007 after Kyle Johnson was cut in training camp.

“Cecil is excited to get his release and start playing for another NFL team,” Sapp’s agent David Canter said. I do wonder about what he means by that and if Cecil feels scorned. I hope not. He was a good player.

Though this will give us the chance to see some more Peyton Hillis who I think will become one of the top Fullbacks in the NFL. I am looking forward to seeing more stuff from him.

Comments are closed.

