Skip to content

John Lynch Released By Patriots

August 31, 2008

After John Lynch left the Broncos I was heart broken. I wish I could have gone and told him make sure that the Patriots treat you right. 

I knew from the start they didn’t. First they considered moving him to Linebacker which though he’d be good at was a stab in the back. Or at least that is what I thought of it. 

But as if that wasn’t bad enough, the Patriots released him yesterday according to NFL.com. “It goes without saying but John is an all-time great safety, one of the league’s classiest professionals and his elite play speaks for itself,” New England coach Bill Belichick said. “As has been the case in other situations, I would not rule anything out down the road.”

That’s just there way of not making Patriot fans go “You idiot! You just cut a Pro Bowler from only last year!” But they are acting like idiots. 

“I have no regrets about my time thus far with the Patriots,” Lynch said. “The immense respect that I’ve long held for the organization has been only heightened over the past couple of weeks. I am going to keep all options open and look forward with excitement to see what the future brings.”

Best case scenario is that Lynch realizes that he had it good in Denver and he comes back. But that is just what I hope happens. The chances of that happening are actually low. So I hope that John Lynch comes back but I should not get my or your hopes up.

Comments are closed.

