Skip to content

Bad Decisions In Roster Cuts

August 30, 2008

Well, now I am officially angry. The Broncos began their cuts and so far they have included some players which I am kind of bitter about the Broncos releasing.

First of Glenn Martinez was cut. I may be the most upset about this than anything else. He is one of my favorite players on the team. I think that this was a huge mistake and is a shame after he has made this much progress.

Also Darrell Hackney was a terrible cut by the Broncos. He has just been so good and should have at least made the Practice Squad. I am upset about this.

Cecil Sapp may have been the most surprising cut so far. I do not feel too bad about it because both Peyton Hillis and Michael Pittman are better than him but it still is quite a surprise for me. 

Josh Barrett was released which I did not expect but I did not feel too bad about. He did not show much progress and is officially in the Bust category. Not like a 7th round pick is a bust though.

Do not worry though, Barrett is eligible for the practice squad. The cuts also included punter Sam Paulescu, offensive lineman P.J. Alexander, tight ends Chad Mustard and Brett Pierce, defensive ends Paul Carrington and Larry Birdine, and offensive lineman Mitch Erickson. 

I hope that we bring Barrett, and Hackney into the practice squad and re-sign Martinez later in the near future. It is a possibility and a good one at that.

3 Comments
  1. August 30, 2008 6:07 PM

    Well, I never really saw anything in Glenn. But Darrell I am kinda mad. And Cecil is on reserverd/injured so like he’s not totally gone yet. I think? Jorden Beck I thought was nice on ST. But we got other good guys on special teams so. I thought it was dumb that we picked up Tyrone Poole then just cut a little later.

  2. August 31, 2008 1:39 AM

    Hey Garrett,

    Everytime I saw Martinez in a game, it seemed as if he was making some big play. It is a shame the Broncos didn’t keep him on the 53.

    And as far as Barrett goes: I actually like this kid. I’m surprised he dropped to the 7th round, and even more surprised he couldn’t stick with the team. If the Bears didn’t have such a need for O-linemen, I’d hope they’d pick him up for the practice squad.

    By the way, Blog Down’s new address is blogdownchicagobears.com, in case you’d like to update that on your blog roll. Keep writing and take care!

  3. August 31, 2008 7:06 AM

    Thanks, I was wondering where it went lol… Martinez is very good and I do agree that Josh Barrett dropped a bit. I just wish he would have progressed more.

Comments are closed.

