Skip to content

Rudi Johnson A Bronco?

August 25, 2008

There are rumors swirling around the NFL that the Cincinnati Bengals are looking to dump Rudi Johnson off in a trade for what they call a “real Wide Receiver”. 

I personally think that they have “real Wide Receivers” even though Chad Johnson has recently suffered an injury and Chris Henry is well… Chris Henry. But that is not what this is about. I think that it might be a possibility for him to come to Denver.

Think of it this way: Rudi Johnson about a year ago was considered one of the best Running Backs in the NFL and a star of the future even though he has proven himself multiple times. Last year he fell down and a lot of bad things followed. He finally got the starting job back but was not that impressive. He could give rebirth to his career with the Broncos.

Whoever the Running Back, we make them stars. Ruben Droughns, Orlandis Gary, Tatum Bell, and Mike Anderson have all had 1,000 yard seasons with the Broncos. Where are they now? Really, the only one who I know about is Bell who is with the Lions. Gary I think is out of the league, Droughns I have no idea where he is and Anderson is suspended but before that had limited success.  

So why can’t we do that with Johnson. Just think of a former Johnson with about another 200 yards in a season sharing the field with Selvin Young and Andre Hall on the Goal Line. It is a scary thought. I do not know what it would mean for the rest of our Running Backs but we could move Pittman to FB, and see if Ryan Torain and Anthony Aldridge go anywhere.

We considered Shaun Alexander with Ryan Torain healthy. This makes much more sense than that. Johnson is younger and we need one more than we did in that instance. So why not? We could cut him if he shows us nothing.

People would say, what should we give up? I hate to say this but maybe Glenn Martinez… I love him but he is quickly progressing and could be of interest. Add him with a conditional 6th round pick and there you go. You have a trade. I am not sure about if we should trade a just signed free agent. But what about Keary Colbert?

This is all speculative and I do not think will happen. I might not even want it to happen but it is something interesting to ponder. Maybe the Johnson rumors are all just myths but hey you never know.

4 Comments
  1. August 26, 2008 8:38 AM

    I know that Ruben Droughns was a Brown, and he was not that bad. I know almost for sure he signed with somenody else. I thought that I saw him some where. But I searched him on NFl.com and nothing came up. Garret, I really don’t think Rudi has a chance at being a Bronco or a good on. Travis Henry was gonna be our next 2,000 yard TD, Portis, Droughns, Bell, Anderson. I think we are set at RB’s. Selvin could become our next Ruben or Mike or whatever. And if not we’ve got Andre, Pittman and the other rookies. And the Bengals want a “real WR” yeah right like we’d give up Marshall. Stokley, maybe but don’t know if he is a “real” WR. Jackson, and Keary are for sure not “real” in my eyes. I don’t know maybe you are right.

  2. August 31, 2008 3:11 PM

    Reuben Droughns is with the Giants now. After he left Denver he played in Cleveland for two seasons and then was traded to the Giants for WR Tim Carter. Last season Droughns was used mainly in short yardage situations or when we were on the goal line. He had 85 carries and 6 TDs.

    This season though he barely made the roster. A lot of fans thought he would be cut with the Giants depth at running back. Brandon Jacobs, Ahmad Bradshaw, and Derrick Ward are all ahead of him on the depth chart. Danny Ware looked great in camp and preseason and could end up ahead of Droughns too. He’s the reason a lot of fans wanted Droughns out of New York.

  3. August 31, 2008 3:31 PM

    ok I thought he might have been somewhere like that. 6 TDs is actually much better than I expected. lol

  4. September 3, 2008 6:56 AM

    Oh yeah! I did know that 😉

Comments are closed.

