Skip to content

Jay Cutler Possible Pro Bowler?

August 22, 2008

When it comes to QB’s the AFC is stacked. We have practically every good QB in the NFL or at least the two best in Peyton Manning and Tom Brady. We also have guys like Carson Palmer, David Garrard, Big Ben Rothlisberger, Vince Young, and Derek Anderson.

So with about 3 or 4 slots open on a Pro Bowl team for QB could Jay Cutler possibly make the Pro Bowl? The way he has been playing it could be a possibility for him.

First of the competition is tough as you can see above. You have your two basics in Manning and Brady who I can not remember a time they were not in the Pro Bowl together. So you can take away two possible spots from Cutler.

Carson Palmer afterwards is widely considered the best QB besides those two. Which at one time I tended to agree with but the Bengals are in back shape with their Defense a wreck and Chad Johnson being well…Chad Johnson hurting his chances of returning to the Pro Bowl. In the same division Derek Anderson is playing admirably but is not Pro Bowl Caliber and has Brady Quinn nipping on his heels. Big Ben Rothlisberger may be inconsistent season to season but is still a Pro Bowl prospect and is a great QB. He just isn’t the same QB he was when they won the Super Bowl.

David Garrard seemingly out of nowhere became one of my favorite QB’s and one of the best in the NFL. Half of it is just how he seems unable to turn over the ball to the other team. The man is a machine and is scary accurate. Being in the Pro Bowl would be no surprise to him, the Jaguars, the NFL or I. There is also Vince Young who’s production as a QB has dropped but he has still become a great player. He is MIke Vick except he does not belong in jail.

It is easy to forget about Brett Favre and how he is now in the AFC and a possible Pro Bowler. I do not think that he will play well enough to deserve a spot in the Pro Bowl but the people will want to vote him into the Pro Bowl for one last shot at glory. NFL fans just love story lines and seeing the under dog or the person called too old win. They loved the Giants beating the Patriots in the Super Bowl. The Saints making it to the playoffs in ’06 was one of there most beloved moments ever. We all love these things even I have been known to love these story lines. That could be why Favre makes it.

Though the competition is important, the real key is how well Jay Cutler plays himself. So far he has played at a Pro Bowl level in the Pre-Season which I for one have been quite impressed by. He has played better than multiple players that I have listed above. If he plays at this level the whole season and the Broncos win games then he could be a shoo-in to go into the Pro Bowl. But only if he plays this well the whole way through.

His tools are sure good enough. Cutler can throw to one of the top Wide Receivers in the NFL in Brandon Marshall, a young promising rookie in Eddie Royal, the best Slot Receiver in the NFL in Brandon Stokley, a player who has lead his team to the Super Bowl and formerly had 3 1,000 yard seasons in Darrell Jackson, and a young rising star in TE Tony Scheffler. When you put it that way I do not think that Cutler should be that worried about targets to throw to.

One thing to think about is if the media gives Cutler hype. If Marshawn Lynch last season would have gotten the same hype that Adrian Peterson did in his first season when they were somewhat close when it came to rushing yards actually then Lynch could have been a Pro Bowler too. A lot of this is about hype and if Jay Cutler breaks every record in the book and is ignored by the media than nobody will know and he will not be sent to the Pro Bowl. Brandon Marshall faced this last year. He played at a higher level than some of the Pro Bowlers but the Pro Bowlers had more media hype around them.

So yes, I think that Jay Cutler can make the Pro Bowl. This will only happen if he plays the way he has so far. He has some tough competition in the stacked AFC West. But I think that he can rise over them and show he is one of the best in the NFL. Who else will be there? Cutler if he comes will join the likes of Manning, Brady, and Rothlisberger on the AFC side of the Pro Bowl. This is all speculation but it is speculation we all hope comes true

4 Comments
  1. August 22, 2008 10:01 AM

    Jay has a GREAT shot at the Pro Bowl. It’s his third year with Shanny. And everything. I also think he got a very good shot at being the Madden10 cover. But I hope not, I don’t want him cursed. And G, I am not sure if this is what you went when you said it but, Vick does not belong in jail at all. I have a lot of respect for Vick.

    But don’t get me wrong, I LOVE dogs 🙂 And I also have my own. She’s like one. I love her to death.

  2. August 22, 2008 10:16 AM

    I’ll be honest with you Jon. I have very little respect for Vick. The man is a good player but nobody should do that to dogs at all. I would like to see him make a come back but only if he cleans up his act. I have respect for him as a player but as a person beyond football he disgusts me.

  3. August 22, 2008 10:49 AM

    Yeah, doing that to dogs is just stupid. But he is “cleaning up his act” and he did say he was sorry. And I belive he ment it. Hope he comes back to the NFL a better person and player.

  4. August 22, 2008 11:05 AM

    I sure hope so.

Comments are closed.

