Skip to content

Saturday’s Horsing Around With Jon Krause

August 16, 2008

This fall (and ONLY this fall) I’ll be a Pat fan, John Lynch has signed with the Patriots! In Denver’s first regular season they will play Vs. former Bronco Javon Walker on ESPN, on Monday Night Football. Then, seven weeks later on Oct. 20th on ESPN Monday Night Football in New England the Broncos will face the great former Bronco safety Lynch. When John signed with Denver in ’04 he thought that he would finish his career with the team. But the nine-time pro bowl pick has signed a one-year $1.5 million contract.

“I thought Denver would be my last stop, but things happened and here I am,” John Lynch quoted.

Lynch took a physical and talked to Coach Bill Belichick, they returned to Denver to talk it all over with his family. Then on Thursday he went back to Foxborough and the Pats announced the signing Friday.

“I am excited to have John on the team, He is a guy I have admired for a long time — his playing style and his production. He has been a great player with different organizations and with nine Pro Bowls.” Bill Belichick told the press.

John Lynch talked with the Patriots after being cut by Tampa after the ’03 season and has had this “thing” with the team.

“I’ve always admired the Patriot organization from afar…The thing that’s always impressed me the most is the way they play the game,” he said. I think they play it the right way. They embody the sense of team as well as anyone.” Lynch said.

New England will play Tampa Bay, the team that drafted John in ’93 on Sunday. If he will play is yet to be said. Head Coach Belichick said he’d talk to the coaches, and and watch film from practice Friday. Then decide if he would put him on the field Sunday night. Lynch said he got through the play book in one night and felt good after practice, even without getting much sleep.

I don’t know if I should hate Lynch or the Broncos…I would never leave the Broncos but I can’t dump Lynch, like I said this fall I’ll be on the Pats side. In week six, I hope Broncos win and Lynch plays well. That is the only way I can be happy.

Here is a video, and another.

Jon Krause is a member of the Bronco Madness staff. You can find his own blog Denver Broncos News By Jon here.

5 Comments
  1. Sonny Anderson permalink
    August 16, 2008 11:42 AM

    John Lynch is going to the Patriots?! How did I miss that?

  2. August 16, 2008 12:17 PM

    Sonny, glad to hear from you, it’s pretty crazy I know. I just hope they don’t make him play LB.

  3. August 16, 2008 12:47 PM

    😦 So sad, I think he’d make a sweet LB, he’d be awsome at anything. I think he’s best at FS.
    I know, like one of my best friends brother-in-law told me he heard a rumor that John Lynch went to the Pats. And I was like “WHAT!!” And when I got home I got on the computer (nfl.com) and it was the top story.
    here is the story: http://www.nfl.com/news/story?id=09000d5d80a001e4&template=with-video&confirm=true

  4. August 16, 2008 1:14 PM

    True, but I think it would be sort of a stab in the back to make him change positions after all these years at FS.

  5. August 16, 2008 2:04 PM

    yup, hope he sticks with FS

Comments are closed.

