Skip to content

Marshall Rooming With Cutler During Suspension

August 14, 2008

Why not? Here is the article from the Rocky Mountain news. Hope you guys enjoy!

Brandon Marshall has chosen deluxe accommodations for when he serves his suspension to open the regular season: Chez Jay.

The Broncos receiver, facing a two- to three-game, league- mandated absence in September for violation of the NFL’s code of conduct, plans on crashing at the home of quarterback Jay Cutler during his downtime.

“Me and Jay decided I’m going to stay with him,” Marshall said after the first of four joint workouts at Dove Valley with the Dallas Cowboys.

“He’s got plenty of room,” the receiver added with a laugh. “What I’m going to do is take over his basement.”

Yet Marshall made it clear that this will be a working vacation upon which he’ll embark with Cutler at his side.

“What we’re going to do is, I’m going to stay in the game plan. And at night, we’re going to throw,” Marshall explained. “And after we throw, we’ll watch film and he’s going to go over the game plan with me as if I was there.”

The arrangement is necessary because Marshall is barred from Denver’s facilities beginning Aug. 30 through at least Sept. 15, the earliest date that the suspension could end if the receiver follows league guidelines during his downtime. Otherwise, Marshall will be out until Sept. 22.

Cutler confirmed the arrangement, but he declined to speak about it after the afternoon practice.

“Jay’s been great,” Marshall said of his fall-back plan. “The whole Denver Broncos organization has been great to me.

“All I can do is just show them that I’m here now, and when I get back and be accountable.”

And with Marshall scheduled to lose more than $52,000 in base salary during his suspension, it doesn’t hurt that the price is right atChez Jay.

“He better not charge nothing,” Marshall said with a smile. “I might charge him.”

 

