Skip to content

Saturday’s Horsing Around With Jon Krause

August 9, 2008

Garrett here. As you all know Sonny has left the Bronco Madness staff and we have finally found a replacement for him. His name is Jon Krause and he has begun a small, young Broncos Blog called Denver Broncos News By Jon. This column will come every Saturday and it is a revamped version of Thought of the Week. Enjoy!

Hey, I’m the “new guy” and I’ll be doing a post every Friday. This is all new to me and everything, so tell me what I did wrong and right in the comments. So here we go:

This past off-season the Denver Broncos lost WR Javon Walker as free agent to the Raiders. Then a short while after signed Keary Colbert? I instantly loved him and expected him to be our new #2 wide receiver. But then in April on the 42 pick of the NFL draft with their second draft pick the Broncos selected Eddie Royal. Everybody was shocked. I had not expected it really at all, and thought “he’ll probably won’t even make it through camp. Boy was I wrong…

as you have heard Eddie Royal has won the #2 spot, and will start across from Brandon Marshall tonight when we play the Texans.

Now this is a pre-season game so everybody will just brush this off. But Ed has played EXTREAMLY well in camp, and could very very easily win the second wide out spot. Marshall will play in all the Broncos pre-season games, but he was suspended the first three weeks of the regular season. So if Royal can keep his #2 spot he’ll start as our #1 WR in a week 1-3, and that’s a BIG deal.

“He’s earned the chance to start. He’s practiced at a high level and done all the things you need to do to play with the first team.” Mike Shanahan said.

I hope he plays as good on the field as in camp, I think he has what it takes to play in the big time. Eddie, and Brandon could be the next Ed Mac and Rod Smith.
The only thing is Ed, please loose the #19, it gives me bad memories of Jerry (Rice).

“I’ve been practicing all along like I was capable of playing with the first team. I’m just excited. It’s a great privilege.”

Eddie Royal said.

Make us proud Eddie.

Well that’s it, like I said I’m just starting and this is all new to me. Tell me what you think.

Till next Friday,

-Jon

Jon Krause is a member of the Bronco Madness staff. You can visit his blog Denver Broncos News By Jon.

One Comment
  1. August 9, 2008 3:10 PM

    I found some mistakes already…oh well.

Comments are closed.

