Skip to content

A Few Seconds of Panic EXCLUSIVE REVIEW!

August 4, 2008

It took me ages to get this book. My Borders did not have it in stock and ever since I had a very bad experience with ordering books online I refused to order them. But I have finally finished and I am going to review A Few Seconds of Panic for you. 

I love about anything about the Broncos but not only was this a funny book but an inspiring one. It is a modern day Paper Lion with a lot more comedy and a lot more intense. It is pretty much a window into what we as bloggers, reporters, or even fans are forbidden from seeing. It gives you a brand new look at the players and the NFL in general.

There were some things that happened when I finished this book. First I lost all respect for Jake Plummer. He does not seem like the guy who should be leading a team and I am glad that Jay Cutler is now our QB. I have been glad from the start but this puts it in a whole new perspective. Another thing I learned about QB’s is that they are the cool kids of the NFL. They are the most popular players there.

I liked how Special Teams coach Paul Woodside supported him and I thought that it made the story all the more inspirational. But was I the only one who noticed how much Woodside used the word awesome? It bothered me a bit. 

He talked a lot about Bradlee Van Pelt who honestly I forgot about. He seemed like a very friendly person the way Fatsis portrayed him. 

The thing that stood out to me the most was when he talked about Tyler Fredrickson a NFL aspirant and player trying to become a star in the NFL. Here is what Fatsis said: “Tyler was cut from Seattle”s Training Camp in 2004. He was signed by Denver the next off-season and cut before Training Camp in 2004. He was resigned by Denver the next season and was cut during tryouts for the NFL’s European league. Tyler thought his NFL career was over before it had begun but Denver kept brining him back. In that time as an NFL aspirant he earned about $12,000″ (40). 

That was absolutely amazing. It shows just how much drive some of these players have to try to make the big time. That was just one of the little windows it opened to us. I saw the Broncos in a whole new light. Some of it brighter. Some of it darker. 

This also proved the point that you can be in your 40’s and still play kicker. Morten Anderson anyone? You could tell that he had some good coaching through the book Fatsis improved his kick an could split the uprights past 40 yards. I would of liked to see him go even farther but this was still pretty good for a 5-8 foot, 170 pound, 43 year old sportswriter. 

Of course comedy was packed through this whole thing. Whether it was him dancing in front of the entire team and looking like a complete fool, or making himself look like an idiot in front of Tom Nalen. There was too much comedy to count. 

My final word for this book is that it really makes you feel good. It shows that when you want something there is nothing to stop you. We have gotten the chance to look at the NFL. If the old look at the NFL Paper Lion did not wet your appetite enough for a look inside the modern day NFL then A Few Seconds of Panic is the perfect book for you. 

I enjoyed this book in all aspects and it has become one of my favorite books of all time. It is a total page turner that will keep you wanting more. Stefan Fatsis sure has a hit with his new book. Everyone can enjoy this book and it will give even a Raiders fan quite a good time. Perfect for all you Bronco Maniacs! 

3 Comments
  1. Sinjem permalink
    August 4, 2008 8:27 AM

    I just finished the book as well and thoroughly enjoyed it. It was well written, amusing, and insightful. As a fan of the Broncos it was a window into the lives of the players and their mindset as players that I wasn’t expecting. I have so much more respect for these guys and the plight they face as players in the NFL. However, I totally disagree with your comments on Jake Plummer. It was nice to see someone finally mention the fact that the entire team fell flat against Pittsburg. Not just a single player. Frankly, if you walk away with no respect for Plummer I think you missed a major part of the book that deals with the mental stress that these guys face trying to make the team. Give him a break as being human. I don’t think it’s fair to judge unless you truly know what it’s like for these guys. And from this book I’ve learned ultimately we as fans don’t have a clue.

  2. August 5, 2008 6:28 AM

    Thanks for commenting, I did not lose respect for him because he lost to the Steelers but that he acted like a total b**** about everything imaginable. But you are right, we have fans do not have a clue.

  3. April 24, 2009 2:22 AM

    The style of writing is very familiar to me. Did you write guest posts for other blogs?

Comments are closed.

