Skip to content

John Lynch & Broncos Parting Ways

July 31, 2008

John Lynch and the Broncos have decided that the best thing to do at this point would be to part ways. Lynch met with Head Coach Mike Shanahan Wednesday afternoon, and Shanahan gave Lynch permission to look for a new team, or retire and likely pursue broadcasting.

To me this is the most depressing thing that has happened this entire off-season. I am seriously in disbelief. I can not belief that my favorite Bronco is leaving. 

We are probably going to release him today officially. “I’m going to explore all of my opportunities,” Lynch said Wednesday night. “Is it retirement? Maybe. Is it playing for another team? Maybe. (Coach) Mike (Shanahan) has given me the opportunity to explore that, and that’s what I’m going to do. But I won’t be playing for the Broncos.”

Lynch is a nine time Pro Bowler and all four years with the Broncos made the Pro Bowl. Now he is 37 and in his 16th year in the NFL. 

Lynch signed with the understanding he would have an opportunity to compete for a starting job. He consistently has said he hoped to earn as much playing time as he could after an offseason filled with grueling workouts near his offseason home in San Diego. He started out not playing with the team and having his own workouts. 

“I had a good meeting with Mike (on Wednesday),” Lynch said. “There are no hard feelings. I’m just looking at what’s out there. In my heart, I want to play, but I need to look at everything right now, and that’s what I’m doing. Is playing still part of that? I really have to look at that and see.”

Champ Bailey honored him with these words. “I’m just proud that I got a chance to play with him. He’s been great for my career the last few years, and the way he’s done his whole career, and just moving on, look at what he’s done. Great years. This would have been 16. I’m just fortunate enough to have part of my career with him.”

Lynch knew it was going to be a competition, having said in the weeks leading to training camp he might have to “change some people’s minds” to play as much as he had in the past. That is the reason that he mainly left.

I speak for every Bronco fan ever when I say that he will be sorely missed and I will have trouble letting him go. Lynch has become one of my all time favorite players and I did not expect this. Lynch will be missed sorely and it will be hard to play this season without him. It his hard to imagine him leaving. I honestly expected him to retire as a Denver Bronco.

One of my greatest memories is actually meeting Lynch myself. I loved him before he was a Bronco and I was never more happy then when he came to us. John you will be sorely missed.

Comments are closed.

