Skip to content

Cutler Hosts Celebrity Golf Tournament

June 20, 2008

Mike Shanahan is no longer the only person in the Denver Broncos organization who has a celebrity golf tournament. Jay Cutler hosted his second this week.

The Western Union Jay Cutler Celebrity Golf Tournament was held at Pinery Country Club last week. It was the second year that the Jay Cutler Foundation held its golf tournament. “We started the foundation a couple years ago, and this is the second tournament,” Cutler said. “It’s going well. We had a good turn out.”

Some of the big names there included Dre’ BlyEbenezer EkubanMike LeachJohn LynchBrandon MarshallGlenn MartinezErik PearsTony Scheffler and Rod Smith. Each player teamed up with 3 different sponsors or donors. 

Though it wasn’t regular stroke play golf. It was a scramble playing best ball with mini competitions. 

Mike Leach had the shot of the game showing that he can’t only play football but isn’t a bad golfer either. It was a par one 3 hole where he hit it within 12 feet of the pin. 

“I started out a little slow, had a lot of pars, but we’ve made a few birdies in the last couple of holes,” Leach said. “I play a decent amount. The one vice I have is I play a lot of golf.”

Dre’ Bly had one of the worst days. “I lost like 12 balls,” the cornerback said. “I told my guys — I warned them before I started playing.” Apparently he isn’t as good a golfer as he is a cornerback. 

There were a lot of balls in the rough but they all had a lot of fun. “The support throughout Denver has been amazing.” Cutler said. 

3 Comments
  1. im so bored permalink
    June 20, 2008 12:54 PM

    Man!!! I wish I would have been there.

  2. June 20, 2008 12:55 PM

    you and i both.

Trackbacks

  1. Cutler Hosts Celebrity Golf Tournament » golfxing.com

Comments are closed.

