Skip to content

Mike Silver On Jay Cutler’s Diabetes

May 17, 2008

Mike Silver one of my all time favorite sports writers published his weekly column a couple days ago. This time it is on Jay Cutler’s diagnoses. Apparently his son also was diagnosed with the illness. Here is a quick excerpt.

“This goes everywhere with me,” Cutler said, spinning the pouch as though it were a football after he’d just snuck across the goal line. “The first thing I do in the morning is test myself to see where I am, and it’s the last thing I do before I go to bed. This whole thing is a little scary sometimes, but it’s not like you have a choice. It’s part of your life, you know?”

I nodded yes. Unfortunately, I know all too well what it means to manage Type I diabetes on a constant and vigilant basis. It sometimes feels like riding a rollercoaster through a dark tunnel that never ends.

Cutler, who learned of his fate a month ago Thursday, is among the approximately one million Americans suffering from the chronic condition. He found out a couple of weeks shy of his 25th birthday – and almost three years to the day that my son, now nine, was diagnosed. Yes, I know the exact date that everything changed, as do most people I’ve encountered in the Type I community. Other than the birth of our children, my wife and I regard it as the most significant event in our nearly 17 years of marriage.

It is truly a moving story on the struggle with diabetes. Nice job Mike!

Click Here for the article by Mike Silver

3 Comments
  1. Mike Silver Poster permalink
    May 17, 2008 9:22 AM

    You are right. That was a fantastic article. Really moving.

Trackbacks

  1. Mike Silver On Jay Cutler’s Diabetes
  2. Mike Silver On Jay Cutler’s Diabetes | Diabetes Guide

Comments are closed.

