Skip to content

More Comments On Marshall

April 13, 2008

Last week CB Champ Bailey followed up Jay Cutler’s comments on Brandon Marshall with his own. They took place on Sirius NFL Radio.

He began talking about if he would ever change. He quoted “I sure hope so. Who’s to say? I’ve seen guys go through things. You look at Cris Carter and Irving Fryer, what they did through the early parts of their career, and how they turned their lives around and became pretty much Hall of Fame receivers. It’s possible, definitely, but it’s up to him. I sure hope he gets it.”

Later he spoke out about Marshall losing practice time on the field with his injury. “He has a lot of work to do. There’s a lot of things he can do better in his game to make him an even more explosive player. But he’s missing that valuable time with Jay Cutler right now. I’m looking at it, they’re throwing balls now, and he’s not there. I mean, that’s important, and he’s a big part of that. I just hope he understands how valuable he is around here.”

When they asked him what he would say to Marshall right now, he told them “You can say it over and over, but a guy can always make you think that he gets it. Then when you think he gets it, you’re not going to keep on going over and over to him. And then something else comes up and you’re like, ‘well, I guess he didn’t listen to me that time.’ So you say it again, and then something else comes up. I mean, how much can you say to him? There’s only so much you can do. At some point, he’s gotta get it, and learn the hard way. I worry about my team, but at the same time, he’s a grown man. He’s going to have bigger problems than just worrying about football if he keeps going down the track he’s going.”

He even talked about Cutlers comments. “Yeah, it was definitely a big deal. I expect that from him. You don’t see a lot of guys trying to pump a guy up in some kind of way and trying to keep it real as far as exactly what’s happening, you know, what’s going to happen if he keeps going down that road. Jay put his foot out there and did what he’s supposed to do. He’s gotta get this guy on the field, and (Marshall) can’t help him if he’s not out there.”

One Comment

Trackbacks

  1. More Comments On Marshall | NFL News

Comments are closed.

